>

New media art

Treasure hunt
Landscapes and Saami mythology in new media art 

Gaby Schulze 


The Treasure is Found!
Gaby Schulze lays down an artistic trail.

After encountering mysterious rocks in northern Scandinavia, artist Gaby Schulze has been  experimenting with their artistic realization. Intrigued by the many myths of the Saami that are connected to these rocks, she is trying to capture and express emotionally a world that is otherwise hidden from sight.

» Film

Everything started off with the discovery of a can. It lay underneath a tree at the entrance to the Sarek nature preserve in northern Sweden, essentially Europe's last true “wilderness.” Since the can had been carefully half-covered by a flat stone, it attracted the curiosity of the finder. It proved to be a treasure trove. There was a geocaching mark hidden inside the can with the embossed text “greetings from the Elbe sandstone highlands” and with further indications as to its source.

This geocaching discovery inspired the sculptor Gaby Schulze to lay down a trail of her own. During several visits, the artist created more than nine art stones in the wilderness of Lappland. If one wishes to follow this trail, there are two options: One is to find them by chance, on the spot, in the vastness of Scandinavia. The other is to trace them by means of their coordinates in the catalogue, with the help of Google Map and GPS. For this project, the artist began with mysterious but naturally occurring rocks that she had found in the North. To capture the spell of the place graphically, she drew the surrounding vegetation of mosses and lichens, engraved the images on prepared metal sheets, and inserted these into the magic rocks. Here arises the connection to the Saami who live in the region, to their culture and to their myths. Because the Saami themselves made offerings at conspicuously shaped rocks, so-called Siejdde or Sieidi, which were seen as sacred offering sites. Leaving sacrifices of such things as fish, reindeer horn, bones or blood, they prayed for luck at fishing or hunting, or simply for well-being.

Similar rocks are known to the artist from her own home region in Germany. In her thoughts, therefore, she is not only tracing them back along a journey that carried them down from the North with the glaciers of the Ice Age. But she has also followed their trail physically during her travels through Scandinavia and Greenland. There, through her work, she came to know and appreciate the traditions and myths of the Saami and Inuit who live in those places.

Full text and photos
www.gabyschulze.de/wp

>

Medienkunst

Schatzsuche

Landschaften und Mythologie der Saami
und deren künstlerische Umsetzung durch neue Medien

Gaby Schulze

Schatz gefunden! Auf der Fährte von Schulzes Kunstspur
Nach der Begegnung mit geheimnisvollen Findlingen im Norden Skandinaviens experimentiert die Künstlerin mit deren Umsetzung in eine künstlerische Form. Fasziniert von den mit diesen Felssteinen oft verbundenen Mythen der Saami will sie auf diese Weise eine sonst dem bloßen Auge verborgene Welt sinnlich erfassen und emotional wahrnehmbar machen.

» Film

Alles begann mit dem Fund einer Blechbüchse. Sie war abgelegt unter einem Baum am Eingang des Naturschutzgebietes Sarek in Schweden, der wohl letzten „Wildnis Europas“. Weil sie so sorgfältig mit einem flachen Stein halb abgedeckt war, erregte sie die Neugier des Finders. Es handelte sich um einen Schatzfund. In der Dose war eine Geocachingmarke mit der Prägung „Grüße aus dem Elbsandsteingebirge“ und weiteren Herkunftsangaben verborgen.

Dieser Geocaching-Fund inspirierte die Bildhauerin Gaby Schulze zu eigener Fährtenlegung. Im  Verlauf  einiger Reisen schuf die Künstlerin mehr als neun Kunststeine in der Wildnis Lapplands. Will man dieser Fährte auf der so hinterlassenen Kunstspur folgen, gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten: entweder man findet sie per Zufall in den Weiten Skandinaviens vor Ort oder man kann sie mit Hilfe der Koordinaten im Katalog in Verbindung mit Google Map und GPS verfolgen. Für dieses Vorhaben fand die Künstlerin in der Natur des Nordens geheimnisvolle Felssteine. Es galt den Zauber des Ortes mit eigenen Zeichnungen grafisch zu erfassen und die umgebende Vegetation von Moosen und Flechten als Muster in vorbereitete Metallplatten einzugravieren, die dann in jene magischen Steine eingelassen wurden. Hier entsteht die Verbindung zu den hier lebenden Saami, zu ihrer Kultur und ihren Mythen. Denn die Saami opferten an auffällig geformten Steinen, den Siejdde oder Sieidi, die als heilige Opferplätze galten. Es wurde mit Opfergaben wie Fisch, Rentierhorn, Knochen oder Blut, um Glück beim Fischen oder bei der Jagd oder darum, dass es einem gut gehen solle, gebeten.

Ähnliche Findlinge kennt die Künstlerin auch von heimatlichen Regionen Deutschlands. In ihren Gedanken verfolgt sie nicht nur ihre Reise zurück, die von den Gletschern der Eiszeit aus dem Norden mitgebracht worden sind, sondern sie ist auch selbst deren Weg gegangen, indem sie mehrere Forschungsreisen durch Skandinavien und Grönland unternahm und bei ihren Arbeiten von den Traditionen und Mythen der dort lebenden Saami und Inuit erfuhr.

Vollständiger Text und Fotos          
www.gabyschulze.de/wp