>

Shows on the web  |  January  2018

The Saami in Sweden – an indigenous people in far northern Europe
 
The Saami people live throughout Sápmi, the Saami homeland, which is a wide area reaching all the way from central Sweden and southern Norway, across the northern Scandinavian peninsula, northern Finland and into far northwestern Russia. Traditionally, the Saami speak one of ten Saami languages, the largest of which is North Saami, with around 20,000 speakers. Intensive contact with other northern peoples in the respective nation states of Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia has led to significant endangerment of many traditional aspects of Saami life. This includes the Saami languages, and as a result all Saami nowadays speak the respective national language fluently, but frequently no longer speak their family's Saami language.

Early accounts on these Saami groups can be found in the reports of the missionaries from the 17th and 18th centuries in which Saami worldviews and ritual practices using their shaman drum are exhaustively described. Saami mythological thought has inspired many artists to produce prominent works of art.

Historically, the Saami have survived on hunting and gathering and, to a great extent, on fishing the many waters of the north. In the course of the past centuries, reindeer husbandry has developed into a common livelihood and is typically one of the main things associated with the Saami in Sweden, but in fact only a small portion of the Saami are active in reindeer herding today. Along with the advantages brought by modern technology from the outside, certain challenges have also been introduced, including how climate change is affecting reindeer herding. 

The Saamis' political history has rarely been easy. The relatively positive trend currently concerning the status or role of Sápmi within the Scandinavian nation states could potentially provide ways in the future to balance out new opportunities and potential long-term risks that could affect Saami culture and livelihood.

Negative political and cultural dominance of the Swedish state has driven several Saami languages nearly to extinction. However, attitudes towards multilingualism and multiculturalism over the past years have improved. As a result, efforts are underway to help revitalize these languages, as outlined in this proposed symbiosis for documentary linguistics and oral history research. As a specific example, Pite Saami has been the subject of extensive digital language documentation. In addition, Pite Saami speakers collected a word list, which led to a dictionary and orthographic standard (spelling system) being published in 2016. The orthography is also available online (in Swedish).


Winter Reindeer landscapes

On Hornavan Lake near Arjeplog/Sweden 
and in Lønsdal near Storjord/Norway

Joshua Wilbur
» film
Identifying reindeer
Pite Saami, near Arjeplog
with Anders-Erling Fjällås
Joshua Wilbur

» film
Copyright 2010 J. Wilbur, Anders Erling Fjällås and the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme, in the Endangered Languages Archive (https://elar.soas.ac.uk/Collection/MPI201072), SOAS University of London
Interview on climate change
Pite Saami. Arjeplog
with Anders
-Erling Fjällås
Joshua Wilbur

» film
Copyright 2015 J. Wilbur, Anders Erling Fjällås and the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme, in the Endangered Languages Archive (https://elar.soas.ac.uk/Collection/MPI201072), SOAS University of London
Treasure hunt

Landscapes and Saami mythology in new media art


Gaby Schulze
» film

>

Virtuelle Ausstellung  |  Januar 2018

Die Saami in Schweden – ein Volk im hohen Norden Europas

Die Saami leben in ihrem Heimatland Sápmi, welches sich über ein weites Gebiet erstreckt – über die gesamte nördliche Halbinsel Skandinaviens von Mittelschweden und Norwegen über Finnland bis in den Nordwesten Russlands. Von ihren zehn Sprachen hat das Nord-Saamische mit ungefähr 20.000 die meisten Sprecher. Der enge Kontakt mit anderen Völkern des Nordens in deren jeweiligen Nationalstaaten Norwegen, Schweden, Finnland und Russland hat zu einer deutlichen Bedrohung vieler traditioneller Lebensbereiche der Saami geführt. Das betrifft vor allem auch die saamischen Sprachen. So sprechen zwar alle Saami die jeweilige Landessprache fließend, aber häufig nicht mehr die eigene saamische Sprache ihrer Familie.

In frühen Missionarsberichten aus dem 17. und 18. Jahrhundert werden Weltbilder der Saami und ihre rituellen Praktiken, wie auch der Gebrauch der Schamanentrommel, ausführlich beschrieben. Die Mythologie der Saami inspiriert viele Künstler zu bedeutenden Kunstwerken.

Seit Urzeiten lebten die Saami von der Jagd und vom Sammeln sowie in größerem Maße auch vom Fischfang an den vielen Seen und Küsten des Nordens. Während der letzten Jahrhunderte hat sich die Rentierhaltung zu ihrer besonderen Lebensgrundlage entwickelt, mit der auch die Saami in Schweden üblicherweise in Verbindung gebracht werden. Allerdings ist heutzutage nur noch ein geringer Anteil der Saami in der Rentierhaltung tätig. Neben Vorteilen, welche moderne von außen übernommene Technologien mit sich brachten, gibt es allerdings auch neue Herausforderungen, zum Beispiel offensichtliche Folgen des Klimawandels für die Rentierhaltung.

Politische Entwicklungen von außen waren für die Saami in der Vergangenheit mitunter problematisch. Der zur Zeit relativ positive Trend im Hinblick auf den Status und die Rolle von Sápmi innerhalb der skandinavischen Nationalstaaten dürfte sich jedoch in Zukunft vorteilhaft erweisen. So wären neue Entwicklungspotentiale besser gegen möglicherweise langfristige Risiken abzuwägen, die sich für die Kultur und die Lebensgrundlagen der Saami abträglich erweisen könnten.

Lang andauernde politische und kulturelle Dominanz des schwedischen Staats hat einige saamische Sprachen nahzu zum Verschwinden gebracht. Allerdings haben sich Einstellungen im Hinblick auf Multilingualismus und Multikulturalismus in den letzten Jahren verbessert. Folglich gibt es zur Zeit eine Reihe von Maßnahmen um den Erhalt dieser Sprachen zu unterstützen, welche in dem Artikel Documentary Linguistics and Oral History Research näher ausgeführt werden. Ein besonderes Beispiel ist die umfassende digitale Sprachdokumentation für das Pite-Saamische. Darüber hinaus sammelten Sprecher des Pite-Saamischen eine Wortliste, welche als Wörterbuch mit einem orthografischen Standard (Aussprachesystem) im Jahr 2016 veröffentlich wurde. Die Orthografie ist auch auf Schwedisch online abrufbar.



Landschaften mit Rentieren im Winter

Am Hornavan See in der Nähe von Arjeplog/Schweden 
und in Lønsdal in der Nähe von Storjord/Norwegen

Joshua Wilbur

» Film
Identifizierung von Rentieren
Pite Saami, in der Nähe von Arjeplog
mit Anders-Erling Fjällås
Joshua Wilbur

» Film
Copyright 2010 J. Wilbur, Anders Erling Fjällås and the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme, in the Endangered Languages Archive (https://elar.soas.ac.uk/Collection/MPI201072), SOAS University of London
Interview zum Klimawandel
Pite Saami, Arjeplog
mit Anders
-Erling Fjällås
Joshua Wilbur

» Film
Copyright 2015 J. Wilbur, Anders Erling Fjällås and the Endangered Languages Documentation Programme, in the Endangered Languages Archive (https://elar.soas.ac.uk/Collection/MPI201072), SOAS University of London
Schatzsuche

Landschaften und Mythologie der Saami 
und deren künstlerische Umsetzung

Gaby Schulze

» Film