>

Shows on the web  |  February  2016

Math in Cultural Context:
Potential contribution of indigenous knowledge to teaching and learning mathematics
 
From 2012-2015, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures participated in a research project with the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, funded by the National Science Foundation. In collaboration with local Koryak and Even experts in Kamchatka, Erich Kasten documented and analyzed indigenous mathematical knowledge that is embedded and encoded in everyday activities. Other teams worked on this theme with the Yup'ik (Alaska), the Inuit in Greenland, and in Yap (Micronesia).

At workshops in Sisimiut (Greenland), Fairbanks (Alaska), and Fuerstenberg/Havel (Germany), indigenous experts demonstrated their craftsmanship. Their techniques were compared to bring out common mathematical concepts that they might entail. Toward the end of the final workshop at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures, there was a vivid cultural exchange that centered on song and dance traditions that occupy a prominent place among those peoples.

Initial results relating to Kamchatka have been summarized in an article by Erich Kasten. Also provided are learning tools for sustaining those handicrafts that contain particular mathematical knowledge of these peoples.  » more

Documenting indigenous mathematical knowledge
Nymylan und Chavchuven Koryak
Lesnaya, Palana

» film
Documenting indigenous mathematical knowledge
Aliutor Koryak and Chukchi
Achaivaiam, Tilichiki


» film
Documenting indigenous mathematical knowledge
Evens
Esso


» film
Indigenous mathematical knowledge
Workshop
Fuerstenberg/Havel

» film
Indigenous mathematical knowledge
Workshop
Songs and Dances of the peoples of the North
Fuerstenberg/Havel

» film

>

Virtuelle Ausstellung  |  Februar 2016

Mathematik im kulturellen Kontext:
Indigenes mathematisches Wissen und dessen Einbeziehung in Lehr- und Lernkonzepte

Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien war von 2012 bis 2015 Partner in einem von der National Science Foundation geförderten Forschungsprojekt der University of Alaska, Fairbanks. Erich Kasten dokumentierte und analysierte bei Korjaken und Evenen auf Kamtschatka zusammen mit einheimischen Mitarbeiterinnen indigenes mathematisches Wissen in handwerklichen Tätigkeiten. Andere Forschergruppen arbeiteten zu diesem Thema bei den Yup'ik (Alaska), den Inuit auf Grönland und in Yap (Mikronesien).

Auf Workshops in Sisimiut (Grönland), Fairbanks (Alaska) und Fürstenberg/Havel demonstrierten indigene Experten Handwerkstechniken, die im Hinblick auf mögliche gemeinsame mathematische Konzepte vergleichend diskutiert wurden. Zum Ende des abschließenden Workshops in der Kulturstiftung Sibirien kam es zu einem Austausch von Gesangs- und Tanztraditionen, die für diese Völker von besonderer Bedeutung sind.


Erste Ergebnisse zu Kamtschatka sind in einem Artikel von Erich Kasten zusammengefasst. Vorgesehen ist ebenfalls die Erstellung von Lernmaterialien zum Erhalt der dokumentierten handwerklichen Tätigkeiten, in denen besonderes mathematisches Wissen dieser Völker verankert ist.   » mehr


Dokumentation von indigenem mathematischen Wissen
Nymylan und Čavčuven Korjaken
Lesnaja, Palana


» Film
Dokumentation von indigenem mathematischen Wissen
Aljutor Korjaken und Čukčen
Ačaivajam, Tili
čiki

» Film
Dokumentation von indigenem mathematischen Wissen
Evenen
Esso


» Film
Indigenes mathematisches Wissen
Workshop
Fürstenberg/Havel

» Film
Indigenes mathematisches Wissen
Workshop
Tanz- und Gesangsbeispiele zu Völkern des Nordens
Fürstenberg/Havel

» Film