>

Shows on the web  |  February  2014

In memory of Aleksandra Urkachan

The Foundation for Siberian Cultures deeply regrets the painful loss of Aleksandra Urkachan. I, Erich Kasten, have felt it most directly. As my closest Kamchatkan collaborator over many years, she made a major contribution to the elaboration and realisation of our common programme to sustain endangered languages and cultures among the indigenous peoples of Kamchatka. This eventually led to the establishment of the Foundation.

I first met Aleksandra in summer 1999 at a seminar in Esso in preparation for a concert tour of Germany with the ensemble "Nulgur". We had been looking for a dancer and singer who was especially well versed in the traditional family songs of the Koryaks. Aleksandra was the obvious choice. Since then, we have continued our working trips together, criss-crossing both Kamchatka and Europe. » more

During this time, our common objective – to preserve the unique cultural heritage of the peoples of Kamchatka – drew us even closer. We agreed that the top priority was to encourage young people to value and further develop the precious indigenous knowledge of their ancestors. We recorded the traditional knowledge of the elders and translated it into learning tools and during school lessons. We arranged to give artists, especially younger ones, the opportunity to perform and present their art in concert tours and at exhibitions abroad. In Germany, Aleksandra made presentations at academic seminars on the cultures of the peoples of the North. Her profound and most authentic knowledge was always highly regarded. It was immediately apparent to all how deeply rooted she was in the values and cultural traditions of her forebears.

Given this background, Aleksandra was always sceptical of old and new nationalisms of any kind. Her family origins led her to identify as Koryak-Nymylan and Even, yet she collaborated readily with Russians as well as with foreigners. In keeping with the traditions of the peoples of the North, she realized that encounters and relationships with strangers could be of mutual benefit; both sides could only learn and benefit from sharing one's special knowledge and experiences. I owe a great debt, therefore, to Aleksandra. Over many years of joint travels through Kamchatka, she gave me a clearer understanding of the local worldview and way of life. Gradually, I came to cherish the indigenous peoples of that region, along with their cultures. For myself, and for many others, Aleksandra's wisdom and genuinely peace-loving nature will always serve as a role model.

Family songs of the Nymylans (Coastal Koryaks)
of Lesnaya

Aleksandra Urkachan
Palana, 2001


» film
Songs and Dances
Aleksandra Urkachan
- Workshop in Esso, 2000
- O-lo-lo-festival
in Lesnaya, 2001
- Linden-Museum Stuttgart, during a concert tour with the ensemble Or'jakan, 2009

» film
Traditional knowledge of Nymylan (Coastal Koryak) fishermen

Aleksandra Urkachan
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski, 2010

» film
Teaching traditional knowledge of Koryak
reindeer-herders
Aleksandra Urkachan at the "State Koryak Center for Arts & Crafts" in Palana, Juni 2012
TV broadcast, Vesti Kamchatka
S. Manaenkov, V. Manuchin
» film
Exhibition at the Koryak Regional Museum
Palana, October 2012

TV broadcast, Vesti Kamchatka
S. Manaenkov, N. Kokok


» film
As guests at the school in Achaivayam

April 2013



» film

>

Virtuelle Ausstellung  |  Februar 2014

Im Gedenken an Aleksandra Urkachan

Wir bedauern den schmerzlichen Verlust von Aleksandra Urkachan. Als engste Mitarbeiterin von Erich Kasten war sie über viele Jahre maßgeblich an der Ausgestaltung und Umsetzung des gemeinsamen Programms zum Erhalt bedrohter Sprachen und Kulturen auf Kamtschatka beteiligt, was letztlich im Jahr 2010 zur Gründung der Kulturstiftung Sibirien führte.

Meine (Erich Kastens) erste Begegnung mit Aleksandra erfolgte im Jahr 1999 während eines Seminars in Esso zur Vorbereitung einer Gastspielreise des Ensembles "Nulgur" nach Deutschland. Wir hielten Ausschau nach einer weiteren Tanzkünstlerin mit besonderen Kenntnissen traditioneller Familiengesänge. Seitdem gingen Aleksandra und ich in den folgenden Jahren unsere Wege gemeinsam, die uns kreuz und quer durch Kamtschatka und Europa führten.  » mehr

Im Laufe der Zeit verband uns immer mehr das gemeinsame Bemühen, das wertvolle kulturelle Erbe der Völker Kamtschatkas zu erhalten und vor allem Jugendliche dazu anzuregen, es schätzen zu lernen und weiter zu entwickeln. Wir zeichneten traditionelles Wissen erfahrener älterer Menschen in Kamtschatka auf und setzten dies in Lernmaterialien und Präsentationen um. Wir versuchten vor allem jungen Künstlern durch Tourneen und Ausstellungen im Ausland Anerkennung und weitere Impulse zu geben. Dort informierte Aleksandra auch in wissenschaftlichen Seminaren über die Kulturen der Völker Kamtschatkas und erfuhr höchste Wertschätzung wegen ihres großen Wissens, das sie nur auf Grund ihrer tiefen Verankerung in den traditionellen Werten ihrer Vorfahren so glaubwürdig vermitteln konnte.

Dabei stand Aleksandra alten und neuen Nationalismen immer skeptisch gegenüber
. Von ihrer Herkunft her fühlte sie sich gleichermaßen als Korjakin-Nymylanin sowie als Evenin und sie arbeitete mit Russen und Ausländern zusammen. Gemäß der Tradition der Völker des Nordens wusste sie, dass Begegnungen und Beziehungen mit Fremden sich zum gegenseitigen Vorteil gestalten lassen, und dass durch einen solchen Austausch von unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen und Kenntnissen alle nur lernen können. So empfinde ich tiefste Dankbarkeit gegenüber Aleksandra, die mir im Laufe der vielen Reisen auf Kamtschatka Lebensart und Weltbild der Einheimischen näher brachte. Sie verhalf mir dazu, diese besser zu verstehen und schließlich die indigenen Völker der Halbinsel und ihre Kultur immer mehr schätzen zu lernen. Aleksandras Weisheit und Versöhnlichkeit werden mir und vielen anderen immer ein Beispiel und Vorbild sein.

Famiiengesänge der Nymylanen (Küstenkorjaken) von Lesnaja

Aleksandra Urkachan
Palana, 2001


» Film
Tanz und Gesang
Aleksandra Urkachan
- Seminar in Esso, 2000
- O-lo-lo-Fest in Lesnaja, 2001
- I
m Linden-Museum, Stuttgart, während der Tournee mit dem Ensemble «Or'jakan», 2009
» Film
Traditionelles Wissen zum Fischfang der Nymylanen (Küstenkorjaken) 

Aleksandra Urkachan
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski, 2010

» Film
Unterrichtsstunde zu traditionellem Wissen korjakischer Rentierhalter 
von A. Urkachan im "Staatlichen Korjakischen Zentrum für Kunsthandwerk" Palana, Juni 2012
TV-Sendung, Vesti Kamchatka
S. Manaenkov, V. Manuchin

» Film
Ausstellung im Korjakischen Regionalmuseum
Palana, Oktober 2012

TV-Sendung, Vesti Kamchatka
S. Manaenkov, N. Kokok


» Film
Zu Gast in der Schule von Achaivajam

April 2013



» Film