>

Shows on the web  |  January 2012

Traditional Knowledge in the World of Koryak Fishing

Fishing provides the main food source for the Koryaks who live in Kamchatka along river areas that are near the sea. The often not sustainable commercial harvesting of salmon by others jeopardizes the future economic base of this people. Moreover, the proper transmission of Koryak ecological knowledge, which in the past ensured their survival under frequently harsh conditions, is now endangered.

Their indigenous fishing knowledge was the topic of a contribution by E. Kasten to the seminar "Indigenous Peoples and Salmon in the Northern Pacific" at the School for Advanced Research in Santa Fe.  » more
His essay will appear in summer 2012 in the forthcoming volume: Colombi, Benedict J. and James F. Brooks (eds.) "Keystone Nations: Indigenous Peoples and Salmon across the Northern Pacific." Santa Fe, NM: SAR Press.  » more

A crucial step toward preserving such knowledge for indigenous communities is to produce learning tools in collaboration with local experts. A first DVD from a trilogy on this theme has recently been published.  » more

Traditional knowledge related to fishing is also a theme in periodicals that serve as teaching tools in schools and other cultural institutions in Kamchatka.   » more

From among these learning tools, selected recordings of elders from Lesnaya are presented here. These mainly address indigenous worldviews and social values related to salmon fishery that express responsibility towards nature and the future. In a separate forthcoming DVD volume, ecologically sustainable fishing methods will be further documented.



Semion Urkachan
Palana (2010)
» film
Aleksandra Urkachan
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski (2010)
» film
Ekaterina Yaganova
Palana (2006)
» film
Varvara Belousova und
Aleksandra Urkachan
Palana /  Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski (2010)
» film

>

Virtuelle Ausstellung  |  Januar 2012

Traditionelles Wissen zum Fischfang der Nymylanen (Küstenkorjaken)

Der Fischfang bietet den Korjaken, die am Unterlauf der Flüsse Kamtschatkas leben, die wichtigste Nahrung. Die ökologisch wenig nachhaltige kommerzielle Nutzung der wertvollen Lachsbestände durch andere gefährdet die zukünftigen Lebensgrundlagen dieses Volkes. Auch droht das über viele Generationen überlieferte Wissen der Korjaken im Umgang mit der Natur verloren zu gehen, welches den Einheimischen bislang ein Überleben unter schwierigen Bedingungen sicherte.

Indigenes Wissen der Korjaken im Hinblick auf den Fischfang war das Thema eines Beitrags zu einem interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Symposium an der School for Advanced Research in Santa Fe. » mehr
Das hierzu von E. Kasten verfasste Essay wird im Sommer 2012 erscheinen in: Colombi, Benedict J. and James F. Brooks (eds.). "Keystone Nations: Indigenous Peoples and Salmon across the Northern Pacific." Santa Fe, NM: SAR Press.  » mehr

Um dieses Wissen vor allem auch für indigene Gemeinschaften zu erhalten, werden zusammen mit Einheimischen Lernmaterialien erstellt. Eine erste DVD aus der Trilogie zu diesem Thema ist bereits erschienen. » mehr

Traditionelles Wissen zur nachhaltigen und sozial verantwortlichen Nutzung der Fischressourcen ist auch Thema eines Arbeitsheftes für einheimische Pädagogen in Kamtschatka.  » mehr

In Auszügen wird hier indigenes Wissen von älteren Nymylanen aus dem Ort Lesnaja vorgestellt. Während eine andere DVD aus dieser Trilogie ökologisch verträgliche Fischfangmethoden dokumentiert, stehen bei dieser Präsentation vor allem Weltbilder und Wertvorstellungen im Vordergrund – im Hinblick auf einen respektvollen Umgang mit der Natur und auf soziale Verantwortung für die Gemeinschaft und für zukünftige Generationen.



Semion Urkachan
Palana (2010)
» Film
Aleksandra Urkachan
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski (2010)
» Film
Ekaterina Yaganova
Palana (2006)
» Film
Varvara Belousova und
Aleksandra Urkachan
Palana /  Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski (2010)
» Film