>

Shows on the web  |  July 2011

Itelmen language and culture – ways of preserving endangered cultural heritage

The Itelmens are one of the most ancient peoples of Kamchatka. Their traditional ecological knowledge had accumulated over thousands of years. Rich narrative and song traditions are enshrined in a language that has, unfortunately, become ever more threatened. There are only a few remaining people of the older generation who speak the language fluently. Some examples are given here.

Since the mid-1990s there have been a number of German-Russian initiatives aimed at preserving the Itelmen language.  » more

In addition to Itelmen language learning tools that have been produced since then, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures (spearheaded by Tjan Zaotschnaja and in cooperation with the Munich-based group of the Society for Threatened Peoples) currently supports Itelmen classes in Kamchatka.  » more

During the annual Alchalalalai-festival in Kovran, Itelmen language and culture are celebrated and showcased, especially for young people, in artistic dance and song performances. The goal is to keep alive the memory and proud cultural heritage of this people.  » more


Valentina Uspenskaya

"Remembrances of fishing near Sedanka", 2000.

» film
Tat'yana Gutorova

"The eagle's song", 1999.

» film
Alchalalalai-festival:
Itelmen song and dance contest, 2001

» film
Alchalalalai-festival:
Dances by the ensemble "El'vel'"             

» film

>

Virtuelle Ausstellung  |  Juli 2011

Itelmenische Sprache und Kultur – Wege zum Erhalt von bedrohtem Kulturerbe

Die Itelmenen zählen zu den ältesten Völkern Kamtschatkas. Ihr über Jahrhunderte hinweg erworbenes ökologisches Wissen im Umgang mit der Natur und ihre umfangreiche Erzähl- und Gesangstradition sind eng mit der Sprache dieses Volkes verbunden, welche allerdings seit einiger Zeit in ihrem Fortbestand bedroht ist. Nur noch wenige Itelmenen beherrschen ihre Sprache in einst gewohnter freier Rede, von der hier einige Beispiele gegeben werden.

Seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre gibt es deutsch-russische Initiativen zum Erhalt der itelmenischen Sprache » mehr
 
Neben früheren Lernmaterialien zur itelmenischen Sprache unterstützt die Kulturstiftung Sibirien mit Hilfe von Tjan Zaotschnaja und in Kooperation mit der Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker – Regionalgruppe München den itelmenischen Schuluntericht auf Kamtschatka.
» mehr

Itelmenische Sprache und Kultur wird auf dem jährlichen Alchalalalai-Fest der Itelmenen in Kovran vor allem für die jüngere Generation auch künstlerisch-tänzerisch dargestellt und hält so die Erinnerung an das wertvolle Kulturerbe dieses Volkes wach. » mehr



Valentina Uspenskaja:
Erinnerungen an den Fischfang bei Sedanka

» Film

Tat'jana Gutorova:
Der Gesang des Adlers
Lied der Großmutter aus Utcholok
  

» Film

Alchalalalai-Fest:
Itelmenischer Gesangswettbewerb

» Film

Alchalalalai-Fest::
Tänze des Ensembles «El'vel'»

» Film