>

Seminar

Math in Cultural Context:
Potential contribution of indigenous knowledge to teaching and learning mathematics


Organizer: Erich Kasten

From 10-18 October 2015, the concluding workshop on the research project "Math in Cultural Context," under the auspices of the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, was held at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures by Erich Kasten. The project ran from 2012 to 2015 and was funded by the National Science Foundation. Participants at the workshop included Jerry Lipka and David Koester from Fairbanks, Alaska (USA) as well as Kattie Egede Motzfeldt (Nuuk, Greenland), Pauline Kristiansen (Qaanaaq, Greenland), Dora Andrew-
Ihrke (Dillingham, Alaska) and Lidiya Chechulina (Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski, Russia).
 
During this workshop, preliminary results of the individual research groups with regard to mathematical knowledge in handicrafts were discussed with indigenous experts of the Yup'ik, Greenlandic Inuit, and Koryak. They demonstrated, using sampling pieces, the fabrication of clothing and the design of ornaments. Mathematical concepts encoded therein were identified and discussed cross-culturally.
  » more

The cultural exchange among the seamstresses was not confined only to sewing techniques and underlying mathematical concepts. It also encompassed additional fields of their indigenous knowledge, such as those expressed in songs and dances.  » more

Initial results relating to Kamchatka have been summarized in an article by Erich Kasten. Also provided are learning tools for sustaining those handicrafts that contain particular mathematical knowledge of these peoples.  » more

Press reviews

Märkische Allgemeine Zeitung

>

Seminar

Mathematik im kulturellen Kontext:
Indigenes mathematisches Wissen und dessen Einbeziehung in Lehr- und Lernkonzepte

Organisator: Erich Kasten

Vom 10-18. Oktober 2015 fand in der Kulturstiftung Sibirien
der abschließende Workshop zu dem Forschungsprojekt "Math in Cultural Context" der University of Alaska Fairbanks statt. Das von 2012 bis 2015 durchgeführte Projekt wurde von der National Science Foundation gefördert. An dem Workshop nahmen Jerry Lipka und David Koester aus Fairbanks, Alaska (USA) sowie Kattie Egede Motzfeldt (Nuuk, Grönland), Pauline Kristiansen (Qaanaaq, Grönland), Dora Andrew-Ihrke (Dillingham, Alaska) und Lidija Čečulina (Petropavlovsk-Kamtschatski, Russland) teil.

Während des Workshops wurden bisherige Dokumentationen der einzelnen Forschergruppen zu mathematischem Wissen in handwerklichen Tätigkeiten der Yup'ik, Grönländischen Inuit und der Korjaken mit  einheimischen Experten diskutiert. Indem sie die Herstellung von Kleidungsstücken und Ornamenten demonstrierten, wurden zugrunde liegende mathematische Konzepte erfasst und im Kulturvergleich erörtert.   » mehr

Der kulturelle Austausch zwischen den Kunsthandwerkerinnen beschränkte sich nicht nur auf Nähtechniken und mathematische Konzepte. Er umfasste auch andere Bereiche ihres indigenen Wissens, die unter anderem in Tanz und Gesang zum Ausdruck kommen. 
» mehr
 
Erste Ergebnisse zu Kamtschatka sind in einem Artikel von Erich Kasten zusammengefasst. Vorgesehen ist ebenfalls die Erstellung von Lernmaterialien zum Erhalt jener dokumentierten Tätigkeiten, in denen besonderes mathematisches Wissen dieser Völker verankert ist. 

» mehr
 
Pressestimmen

Märkische Allgemeine Zeitung