>

Research project

The Potential Contribution of Indigenous Knowledge to Teaching and Learning Mathematics

The Foundation for Siberian Cultures recently completed an interdisciplinary and cross-cultural research project with the University of Alaska, Fairbanks. The project ran from 2012-2015 and was funded by the National Science Foundation. The research team identified the mathematics in indigenous knowledge systems by working with elders as they performed and described everyday activities. The project's main thesis is that these mathematical knowledge systems are embedded and encoded in everyday activities. The project spanned three different arctic cultural, linguistic, and geographical regions: Yup'ik (Alaska), Greenlandic Inuit (Greenland), and Koryak and Even (Kamchatka) with a comparative site in Yap (a Federated State in Micronesia) as a control group. The research team consisted of Jerry Lipka, David Koester, Dora Andrew-Ihrke, Evelyn Yanez (Alaska); Ylva Jannok-Nutti (Sweden); Don Rubinstein and Calistus Hachibmai (Micronesia), and Erich Kasten (Germany).

Erich Kasten, the director of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures, led the Kamchatka team. He worked with his main indigenous collaborator, the late Aleksandra Urkachan, and with David Koester of the University of Fairbanks. For the Koryak part of this cross-cultural research, one particular focus was on decorative arts, i.e. the documentation and analysis of designing patterns that adorn clothing. The results not only give us insight into the embedded mathematical processes used in constructing and making everyday tools and artifacts. They also have the potential to establish an alternative learning trajectory, one based on indigenous knowledge systems, which may help in teaching of mathematics in indigenous and non-indigenous contexts.

The basis for this is that within these indigenous communities today, cultural practices continue to exist that contain specific and identifiable mathematical knowledge. As experience from indigenous language school programs in Kamchatka have shown, the indigenous curricula are felt to be foreign as soon as relevant knowledge is no longer practiced and experienced in everyday life.

Toward this end, a number of special editions will be published on this theme by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures within its DVD series on Koryak and Even language and culture. These print- and electronic (on DVD and Internet) learning tools are set up in such a way that – using modern technologies – endangered local knowledge can also be transmitted beyond the regular school curricula using such familiar traditional means as by watching and imitating.

Interim results were discussed at a series of workshops, such as from November 30 to December 6, 2012, in Sisimiut (Greenland), from July 13-18, 2014, in Fairbanks, Alaska (USA), and from October 10-18, 2015, at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in Fuerstenberg/Havel (Germany). » more

Initial results relating to Kamchatka have been summarized in an article by Erich Kasten.

>

Forschungsprojekt

Mathematik im kulturellen Kontext:
Indigenes mathematisches Wissen und dessen Einbeziehung in Lehr- und Lernkonzepte

Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien war von 2012 bis 2015 Partner in einem interdisziplinären und transkulturellen Forschungsprojekt der University of Alaska, Fairbanks. Das Projekt wurde von der National Science Foundation gefördert. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der einzelnen Forschergruppen untersuchten mathematische Konzepte in indigenen Wissenssystemen, die in bestimmten Tätigkeiten verankert sind. Sie begleiteten Einheimische im Alltag und ließen sich diese Tätigkeiten im Hinblick auf das Thema erläutern. Die Untersuchungen erfolgten in verschiedenen kulturellen, sprachlichen und geografischen arktischen Gebieten – bei den Yup'ik (Alaska), Grönländischen Inuit (Grönland), und Korjaken (Kamtschatka/Russland), mit einer Vergleichsregion in Yap (Mikronesien). Das Team setzte sich zusammen aus Jerry Lipka, David Koester, Dora Andrew-Ihrke, Evelyn Yanez (Alaska); Ylva Jannok-Nutti (Schweden); Kattie Egede Motzfeld (Grönland); Don Rubinstein und Calistus Hachibmai (Mikronesien) und Erich Kasten.

Erich Kasten von der Kulturstiftung Sibirien leitete das Kamtschatka-Team. Er arbeitete zusammen mit seiner inzwischen verstorbenen indigenen Mitarbeiterin Aleksandra Urkachan
und mit David Koester von der University of Alaska Fairbanks. Die Untersuchungen zu den Korjaken und Evenen richteten sich in erster Linie auf Handwerk und dekorative Kunst, d.h. die Dokumentation und Analyse der Anfertigung von Mustern und Ornamenten vor allem bei der Kleidungsherstellung. Dabei erfasste indigene mathematische Konzepte können in entsprechende Schulcurricula intergriert werden.

Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass in den indigenen Gemeinschaften die kulturellen Praktiken weiterbestehen, in denen sich das hier erfasste besondere mathematische Wissen manifestiert. Denn nach Erfahrungen zum indigenen Sprachunterrricht in Kamtschatka werden solche indigenen Curricula als fremd empfunden, sobald entsprechendes Wissen nicht mehr im Alltag praktiziert und erfahren wird.

Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien wird deshalb Aufzeichnungen jener Tätigkeiten, in denen besonderes mathematisches Wissen dieser Völker verankert ist, in Form von Lernmaterialien für die Einheimischen aufarbeiten. Die in gedruckter und elektronischer Form auf DVD sowie später auch im Internet bereitgestellten Materialien sind so konzipiert, dass vom Verlust bedrohtes lokales Wissen mit Hilfe neuer Technologien auch außerhalb von Schul-Curricula in kulturgemäßer Weise – durch Beobachtung und Nachahmung – vermittelt werden kann.
 
Die Zwischenergebnisse der einzelnen Forschergruppen wurden auf Workshops diskutiert, so vom 30. November bis 6. Dezember 2012 in Sisimiut (Grönland), vom 13-18. Juli 2014 in Fairbanks, Alaska (USA), und vom 10-18. Oktober 2015 in der Kulturstiftung Sibirien (Fürstenberg/Havel).  » mehr
Erste Ergebnisse zu Kamtschatka sind in einem Artikel von Erich Kasten zusammengefasst.