>
Itelmen Language Classes in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski

This project results from an initiative of Tjan Zaotschnaja and aims to support the preservation of the Itelmen language in Kamchatka. It is being conducted in cooperation with the Munich-based group of the Society for Threatened Peoples ("Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker – Regionalgruppe München").

The Itelmen language is one of the most threatened languages in the world. There are only about two dozen remaining speakers of the older generation who speak the language fluently. At the same time, among Itelmen youth and in particular among those who live in the capital of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski, there is a growing interest in maintaining their native language. For them, it embodies not only specific indigenous knowledge; it links them to their ancestors, one of the most ancient peoples of Kamchatka.

In 2010, a first project – organized and driven by Tjan Zaotschnaja – was launched by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in cooperation with the Munich-based group of the Society for Threatened Peoples and supported by the organization pro Siberia e.V.. Funding was provided to cover travel and accommodation costs in St. Petersburg of a future Itelmen teacher to take his exams there and the publication of his first Itelmen textbook.

The photos show the teacher, Viktor Ryzhkov, who has been supported by this project, while he is teaching classes in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski and in the Elizovo-district. (Photos by Al'bina Morilova)

>

Projekt

Itelmenischer Sprachunterricht in Petropavlovsk-Kamtschatski

Durch dieses Kooperationsprojekt mit der Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker – Regionalgruppe München wird auf Initiative von Tjan Zaotschnaja der Erhalt der itelmenischen Sprache und Kultur auf Kamtschatka unterstützt.

Die itelmenische Sprache zählt zu den weltweit besonders bedrohten Sprachen. Nur etwa zwei Dutzend Menschen der älteren Generation sind noch in der Lage, itelmenisch in einst gewohnter freier Rede zu sprechen. Gleichzeitig wächst unter itelmenischen Jugendlichen und vor allem auch unter denen, die in der Hauptstadt Petropavlovsk-Kamtschatski und im Elizovski-Bezirk leben, der Wunsch ihre eigene Sprache zu erhalten. Denn sie enthält auch besonderes kulturelles Wissen und vermittelt ihnen Zugehörigkeit zu einem der ältesten Völker Kamtschatkas.

Auf Grund einer Initiative von Tjan Zaotschnaja unterstützte die Kulturstiftung Sibirien in Zusammenarbeit mit der Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker (Regionalgruppe München) und pro Sibiria e.V. im Jahre 2010 ein erstes Projekt. Damit wurde die abschließende Ausbildung in St. Petersburg eines dringend benötigten zukünftigen Lehrers der itelmenischen Sprache finanziell unterstützt sowie ein von diesem verfasstes erstes kleineres Lehrbuch zur itelmenischen Sprache.

Die Abbildungen zeigen den durch dieses Projekt geförderten Lehrer Viktor Ryzhkov in verschiedenen Unterrichtssituationen in Petropavlovsk-Kamtschatski und im Elizovski-Bezirk. (Fotos: Al'bina Morilova)