>

Learning tools

In collaboration with indigenous experts, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures produces a variety of learning tools. These include documentations of the endangered languages and traditional knowledge of the peoples of the Russian Far East. The multimedia and print editions are especially designed for individual extracurricular use at home. English translations aim to stimulate interest not only in Russia itself, but also beyond, among other peoples of the North. Many of the texts are presented in linguistic transcription as well, and serve as an important source for international research in this field.

Recordings of rare dialects, often by some of the last speakers when they were still alive, document the languages of these peoples. Among the recorded themes are: life histories; tales, dances and songs; rituals and worldviews; arts and crafts; and ecological knowledge relating to sustainable resource use.

The focus is on recordings by Erich Kasten, first and foremost with Itelmens, Evens and Koryaks since the mid-1990s.

The series Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East also contains publications by other authors on these themes. The volumes released so far deal with Even groups that live to the east of the Sea of Okhotsk and on Nanai.

>

Lernmaterialien

Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien erstellt zusammen mit Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus indigenen Gemeinschaften Lernmaterialien. Sie enthalten umfassende Dokumentationen von bedrohten Sprachen und traditionellem Wissen der Völker im Fernen Osten Russlands. Die  Multimedia- und Druckausgaben eignen sich auch für den individuellen Gebrauch außerhalb des Schulunterrichts. Die englischen Übersetzungen stoßen ebenfalls auf Interesse bei anderen Völkern des Nordens auch außerhalb Russlands. Viele der Texte sind auch sprachwissenschaftlich transkribiert. So dienen sie als wertvolle Ressource für die internationale Forschung auf diesem Gebiet.

Die Sprachen dieser Völker sind anhand der oft letzten Sprecher seltener Dialekte dokumentiert. Zu den Themen zählen Lebensgeschichten, Erzählungen, Tänze und Gesänge, Rituale und Weltbilder, Kunst und Handwerk sowie ökologisches Wissen im Hinblick auf dauerhafte Naturnutzung.

Den Schwerpunkt bilden Aufzeichnungen von Erich Kasten vor allem bei den Itelmenen, Evenen und Korjaken seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre.

Die Reihe Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East enthält weitere Dokumentationen von anderen Autoren und Autorinnen. Bislang sind hierzu Publikationen zu den Evenen westlich des Ochotskischen Meeres und zu den Nanai erschienen.