>

News  (1/7/2013)

In January 2013, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures published the volume "Sustaining Indigenous Knowledge: Learning Tools and Community Initiatives for Preserving Endangered Languages and Local Cultural Heritage", edited by Erich Kasten and Tjeerd de Graaf  » more

The book focuses on the results of two seminars that were held at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in October 2011 and January 2012   » more

A new book series, titled "Studies in Social and Cultural Anthropology", has been established. The first monograph in this series, "Plurale Weltinterpretationen – das Beispiel der Tyva Südsibiriens" ("Plural World Interpretations – the case of theTyvans of Southern Siberia"), by Anett Oelschlaegel, was published in February 2013.   » more

An on-line show, based on rich illustrations from this book, offers fascinating insights into the culture of the Tyvans living in southern Siberia.   » more

On March 1, 2013, at the initiative of the "Compensation Fund for the Peoples of the North," a portrait of Erich Kasten, Director of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures, along with a brief biography, was added to the gallery "Tables of Kamchatka." This was a grateful recognition of his long-standing work in Kamchatka.   » more

From March through mid-May 2013, Erich Kasten conducted fieldwork in north-eastern Kamchatka for the project "The Potential Contribution of Indigenous Knowledge to Teaching and Learning Mathematics". This international project is based at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and is funded by the National Science Foundation. Together with his colleague Aleksandra Urkachan from the "State Koryak Center for Arts & Crafts" in Palana, Kasten documented a number of specific techniques used by local craftswomen, as well as recorded information in the Koryak language. Later analysis is expected to reveal underlying indigenous mathematical concepts.   » more

In Tilichiki and Achaivaiam, Aleksandra Urkachan and Erich Kasten gave presentations and classes in the orphanage and other schools using the DVD learning tools that have been produced by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. At the secondary school in Achaivaiam, ethno-pedagogical programs and educational materials for learning the Koryak language, which have been developed by the staff of that school, were documented and analyzed with a view toward future collaborations in this field.   » more

In early May, the Chukchi-Koryak ritual festival "Kilvei" was documented, with extensive information provided by many participants in their indigenous languages. This material will be used for the production of a DVD. It will also serve as a case study relating to "Shamanism and ritual practice," which will be a special theme dealt with by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in 2014.  

Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.07.2013)

Im Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien erschien im Januar 2013 der von Erich Kasten und Tjeerd de Graaf herausgegebene Sammelband "Sustaining Indigenous Knowledge: Learning Tools and Community Initiatives for Preserving Endangered Languages and local Cultural Heritage".   » mehr

Das Buch ist das Ergebnis von zwei Seminaren, die hierzu an der Kulturstiftung Sibirien im Oktober 2011 und im Januar 2012 durchgeführt worden waren.  » mehr

Im Februar 2013 erschien im Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien als erster Band in der neu eingerichteten Reihe "Studies in Social and Cultural Anthropology" die Monografie von Anett Oelschlägel "Plurale Weltinterpretationen: Das Beispiel der Tyva Südsibiriens"  » mehr

Einen Einblick in die Kultur der Tyva in Südsibirien bietet die virtuelle Ausstellung zu diesem Thema, in der das in diesem Buch enthaltene reichhaltige Bildmaterial präsentiert wird. » mehr

Im März 2013 wurde auf Initiative des "Kompensationsfonds zugunsten der Völker des Nordens" der Gedenkgalerie "Tafeln Kamčatkas" ein Porträt mit Biografie des Leiters der Kulturstiftung Sibirien, Erich Kasten, hinzugefügt, in dankbarer Anerkennung seiner bislang in Kamčatka geleisteten Tätigkeit.   » mehr

Im Rahmen des seit August 2012 laufenden und von der National Science Foundation geförderten Forschungsprojekts an der University of Alaska Fairbanks zu dem Thema "Indigenes mathematisches Wissen und dessen Einbeziehung in Lehr- und Lernkonzepte" führte Erich Kasten von März bis Mitte Mai 2013 weitere Feldforschungen im Nordosten Kamčatkas durch. Zusammen mit seiner Mitarbeiterin Aleksandra Urkačan vom "Staatlichen korjakischen Zentrum für Kunsthandwerk" dokumentierte er Handwerkstechniken mit den entsprechenden Erläuterungen in korjakischer Sprache für spätere Analysen im Hinblick auf zugrundeliegende indigene mathematische Konzepte.
 » mehr

In den Orten Tiličiki und Ačajvajam führten Aleksandra Urkačan und Erich Kasten Präsentationen und Unterrichtsstunden im Waisenhaus und an Schulen mit Hilfe von der Kulturstiftung Sibirien herausgegebener Unterrichsmaterialien auf DVD durch. An der Schule in Ačajvajam wurden dort selbst erstellte Curricula und Lernmaterialien zum korjakischen Sprachunterricht dokumentiert, im Hinblick auf gemeinsam zu entwickelnde zukünftige ethnopädagogische Konzepte.   » mehr

Anfang Mai 2013 wurde ebenfalls in Ačajvajam das čukčisch-korjakische Kilvej-Fest umfassend dokumentiert, für eine geplante DVD-Produktion and als weitere Fallstudie für das von der Kulturstiftung Sibirien für das Jahr 2014 gewählte Schwerpunktthema "Schamanismus und rituelle Praxis".

Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr