>

News  (1/7/2011)

Since establishing the Foundation's publishing branch in January 2011, the focus in recent months has been to conceive and design its program and relevant series, as well as to launch the first publications. At first, these were part of the series "Bibliotheca Kamtschatica", for which agreements had been made with the respective volume editors. Additional essays had been solicited and edited by the series editors.  » more

In April 2011, the first volume of this series was published, the descriptive accounts by Johann Karl Ehrenfried Kegel of his travels and research in Kamchatka from 1841 to 1847. 
» more
More volumes from this series will appear out during the second half of 2011.

In the meantime, the publishing arm of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures has established another series, "Studies in Social and Cultural Anthropology", which will concentrate above all on academic monographs by international scholars. These volumes will be peer-reviewed by an international editorial board. This series complements the historical works of the "Bibliotheka Kamtschatica" and the community-oriented and pedagogical publications of the Language & Culture DVD series.  » more

The latter goal is still the focus of the Foundation's activities, that is order to contribute to the preservation of endangered cultural heritage. With this in mind, and in collaboration with one of its partner institutions in Kamchatka, the "State Koryak Center for Arts & Crafts" in Palana, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures has decided to publish (since April 2011) the quarterly periodical «Ėchgan». It serves as a teaching tool in schools and other institutions of culture in Kamchatka and is aimed at assisting in teaching indigenous themes, such as traditional ecological knowledge and arts & crafts in conjunction with Koryak language.  » more

In January 2011, the DVD "Traditional Knowledge of Koryak Reindeer Herders, Karaginski District" was released as a new volume in the series "Koryak Language and Culture".  » more
Film clips from the DVD can be viewed in the Show on the Web (April - June 2011).  » more

During the exhibition "Der Traum vom Fliegen – The Art of Flying" in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (3.3.- 8.05.2011) the Foundation for Siberian Cultures displayed items from its ethnographic and art collections and showed video films from its archives.  » more

Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.07.2011)

Nach der Verlagsgründung standen für die Kulturstiftung Sibirien im ersten Halbjahr 2011 die Konzeption und die Einrichtung verschiedener Buchreihen sowie Publikationstätigkeiten im Vordergrund. Letztere richteten sich zunächst auf die Reihe "Bibliotheca Kamtschatica". Zu den vorgesehenen Werken wurden Vereinbarungen über die jeweiligen Herausgeberschaften getroffen und erste zusätzlich eingeworbene Essays redaktionell betreut.  » mehr

Im April erschien der erste Band aus dieser Reihe, die Beschreibungen des Johann Karl Ehrenfried Kegel zu seiner Forschungsreise nach Kamtschatka von 1841 bis 1847.
» mehr
Weitere Bände aus dieser Reihe sollen im zweiten Halbjahr 2011 folgen.

Der Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien hat unterdessen mit "Studies in Social and Cultural Anthropology" eine weitere wissenschaftliche Buchreihe eingerichtet. Bei den dort erscheinenden Werken wird es sich vor allem um wissenschaftliche Monographien handeln, die vor ihrer Veröffentlichung von einem internationalen Fachgremium begutachtet werden. Diese Reihe dient der Ergänzung und Abrundung des inhaltlich breit gefächerten Verlagsprogramms, das bislang neben der neu eingerichteten historischen Reihe mit seinen zum Teil russischsprachigen Publikationen und Lernmaterialien vor allem für praktische Anwendungen in Sibirien konzipiert war. » mehr

Letzteres Ziel steht nach wie vor im Vordergrund der Stiftungsaktivitäten, um damit einen besonders wirkungsvollen Beitrag zum Erhalt von bedrohtem Kulturerbe zu leisten. Deshalb wird seit April 2011 von der Kulturstiftung Sibirien in Zusammenarbeit mit einer ihrer Partnereinrichtungen in Kamtschatka, dem "Staatlichen Korjakischen Zentrum für Kunsthandwerk" in Palana, das vierteljährlich erscheinende Arbeitsheft «Ėčgan» herausgegeben. Es dient vor allem als Anleitung für Lehrende in Schulen und sonstigen Kultureinrichtungen in Kamtschatka, die indigene Themen wie traditionelles ökologisches Wissen und Kunsthandwerk zusammen mit korjakischer Sprache unterrichten. » mehr

Im Januar 2011 erschien die DVD "Traditional knowledge of Koryak Reindeer herders, Karaginski district"  in der Reihe "Koryak Language and Culture".  » mehr
Ausschnitte aus dieser DVD sind in der virtuellen Ausstellung (April-Juni 2011) zu sehen.
» mehr

Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien zeigte während der Ausstellung "Der Traum vom Fliegen – The Art of Flying" im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (3.3. - 8.05.2011) eine Anzahl von Exponaten und Filmausschnitte aus ihren Sammlungen.    » mehr

Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr