>

News  (July 2016)

The Foundation for Siberian Cultures has prepared further new editions of significant works on the research history of the Russian Far East. The first thorough ethnographic descriptions of this region by scientists of German and Baltic origin during the 18th and 19th centuries were already published in the series Bibliotheca Kamtschatica. More recently, particular attention has been directed to new editions of important ethnographic volumes from the early 20th century. Most of them originated in connection with the Jesup North Pacific Expedition, which was organized and funded by US institutions. The first two of these new editions have been published in the series Bibliotheca Sibiro-pacifica: Waldemar Jochelson’s comprehensive ethnography The Koryak, originally published in two volumes; and Waldemar Bogoras’s Chukchee Mythology.

In the series Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East, two edited volumes on Tundra Yukaghir texts have been released: Il’ia Kurilov –  My Life, my Songs and Akulina Innokent'evna Struchkova: Various Tales, for the Yukaghir Children. Both volumes contain texts in the Yukaghir language with Russian and English translations, as well as sound files on CD. The volumes were edited by Cecilia Odé from the University of Amsterdam, who has conducted a number of – mainly linguistic – field projects in that area.

In the same series, Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East, another volume edited by Tat’iana Bulgakova (Herzen University, Saint Petersburg) has been published on Nanai language and culture: Kamlaniia nanaiskikh shamanov (Nanai shamanic healing texts). The texts are in the Nanai language with Russian translations. The book is one more important result of a research project that was carried out at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in 2012, with support from the Gesellschaft für Bedrohte Sprachen e.V.. It reviewed Tat’iana Bulgakova’s extensive audio files on earlier text recordings in the Nanai language. This volume adds to her publication Nanaiskie skazki (Nanai tales) from 2012, and to her book Nanai Shamanic Culture in Indigenous Discourse, released in 2013.

Since February 2016, the show ‟Math in Cultural Context” has been on our website. Video-clips provide insights into field research situations from that project, which was conducted from 2012 to 2015 and was funded by the National Science Foundation. In addition, there are clips from the concluding workshop, which was held at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures in October 2015.   


Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.07.2016)

Für den Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien wurden weitere Neuausgaben bedeutender Werke zur Forschungsgeschichte des Fernen Osten Russlands vorbereitet. Wichtige Ethnografien zu diesem Gebiet durch Reisende deutscher und baltischer Herkunft aus dem 18. und 19. Jh. sind bereits in der Reihe Bibliotheca Kamtschatica neu erschienen. Seitdem stehen Neuausgaben umfassender ethnografischer Beschreibungen zu Beginn des 20. Jh. im Vordergrund, die vor allem im Rahmen der von den USA ausgehenden Jesup North Pacific Expedition entstanden sind. Hierzu erschien in der Reihe Bibliotheca Sibiro-pacifica die Neuausgabe des umfassenden (ursprünglich zweibändigen) Werks von Waldemar Jochelson The Koryak sowie die Chukchee Mythology von Waldemar Bogoras.

In der Reihe Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East wurden zwei Textsammlungen zu den Tundra-Jukagiren veröffentlicht: Il’ia Kurilov – My Life, my Songs und Akulina Innokent'evna Struchkova – Various Tales, for the Yukaghir Children. Beide Bände enthalten Texte in jukagirischer Sprache mit russischer und englischer Übersetzung sowie entsprechende Tondateien auf CD. Herausgeberin dieser Werke ist Cecilia Odé von der Universität Amsterdam, die in der Region seit mehreren Jahren vor allem linguistische Feldforschungen durchgeführt hat.

In derselben Reihe Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East erschien der von Tat’iana Bulgakova (Herzen Universität, St. Petersburg) herausgegebene Band zu schamanischen Heilungstexten der Nanai: Kamlaniia nanaiskikh shamanov, in den Sprachen Nanai und Russisch. Es handelt sich dabei um ein weiteres Ergebnis aus einem Forschungsprojekt, das im Jahr 2012 mit Unterstützung der Gesellschaft für Bedrohte Sprachen e.V. an der Kulturstiftung Sibirien zur Aufarbeitung von Tat’iana Bulgakovas Tonaufzeichnungen zur Sprache der Nanai durchgeführt worden war. Der Band ergänzt die 2012 erschienene Textsammlung Nanaiskie skazki (Erzählungen der Nanai) sowie die von derselben Autorin 2013 veröffentlichte Monographie Nanai Shamanic Culture in Indigenous Discourse.

Seit Februar 2016 wird die virtuelle Ausstellung „Mathematik im kulturellen Kontext“ gezeigt. Video-Clips geben Einblicke in Feldforschungssituationen des von 2012-2015 durchgeführten und von der National Science Foundation geförderten Projekts. Außerdem werden Ausschnitte des abschließenden Seminars in der Kulturstiftung Sibirien im Oktober 2015 gezeigt.


Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr