>

News  (January 2016)

The Foundation for Siberian Cultures has released several further publications on Itelmen language and culture. One, a text collection in Itelmen, Russian, and English contains remembrances of the past as well as tales and songs. These were recorded by Erich Kasten in the late 1990s during encounters with last speakers of that language. As a supplement to the book, a DVD was also produced. In addition, a new edition of the "Methodical Recommendations for Teaching Itelmen," first published in 1999, has been launched. Another DVD, based on film documentaries of the Itelmen fall festival "Alkhalalalai" from 2001, was released. These works supplement earlier publications on Itelmen language and culture that have been presented in combined format on the web. » more

The research project "Math in Cultural Context," funded by the National Science Foundation (USA) from 2012-2015, concluded with a workshop at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. Recordings and results from this project are presented in the latest show on the web.

In October 2015, during a lecture tour in Japan, Erich Kasten reported on the research and publication activities of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. At the "30th International Abashiri Symposium: Study of Northern Peoples for 30 Years – Progress, Challenges and Roles of Museums" at the Hokkaido Museum of Northern Peoples, Erich Kasten delivered the opening keynote speech. At the Hokkaido University in Sapporo, he provided details about the current program of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures on sustaining endangered languages in the Russian Far East. Conferring with colleagues from both institutions, plans were made for furter collaborations.

During a conference on "The History and Current State of Literature in the Indigenous Languages" at the Russian National Library in Saint Petersburg, November 14, 2015, Tjeerd de Graaf introduced on behalf of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures its publishing program to document indigenous languages and cultures.  » more

On December 3 and 4, 2015, Erich Kasten participated in a workshop at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) on "Oral History meets Linguistics." The contributions will be published by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures as a volume edited by Erich Kasten, Katja Roller, and Joshua Wilbur.

Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.01.2016)

Im Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien sind weitere Dokumentationen zur Sprache und Kultur der Itelmenen erschienen. Eine Textsammlung in itelmenischer, russischer und englischer Sprache enthält Lebenserinnerungen sowie Erzählungen und Gesänge, die Erich Kasten Ende der 1990er Jahre bei letzten Sprechern dieser Sprache aufgezeichnet hatte. Zu dem Buch ist auch eine DVD erschienen. Die 1999 veröffentlichten "Methodischen Empfehlungen für den itelmenischen Schulunterricht" sind neu herausgegeben worden. Aufzeichnungen des Herbstfestes "Alchalalalai" der Itelmenen aus dem Jahre 2001 sind auf einer DVD erschienen. Diese Publikationen ergänzen frühere Materialien zur Sprache und Kultur der Itelmenen, die zusammenfassend in einer virtuellen Ausstellung vorgestellt wurden.

Das von 2012 bis 2015 von der National Science Foundation geförderte Forschungsprojekt "Mathematik im kulturellen Kontext" ist mit einem Workshop in der Kulturstiftung Sibirien zum Abschluss gebracht worden. Aufzeichnungen und Ergebnisse aus diesem Projekt werden in der aktuellen virtuellen Ausstellung vorgestellt.

Ende Oktober berichtete Erich Kasten während einer Vortragsreise in Japan über die Forschungs- und Publikationstätigkeiten der Kulturstiftung Sibirien. Auf dem "30th International Abashiri Symposium: Study of Northern Peoples for 30 Years – Progress, Challenges and Roles of Museums" des Hokkaido Museum of Northern Peoples hielt er den Eröffnungsvortrag. An der Hokkaido University in Sapporo berichtete Erich Kasten über die laufenden Programme der Kulturstiftung Sibirien zum Erhalt bedrohter Sprachen im Fernen Osten Russlands. Mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen beider Institutionen wurde eine engere zukünftige Zusammenarbeit vereinbart.

Tjeerd de Graaf stellte am 14. November auf der Konferenz der Russischen Nationalbibliothek in St. Petersburg zur "Geschichte und zum gegenwärtigen Stand der Literatur in den indigenen Sprachen" das Verlagsprogramm der Kulturstiftung Sibirien zum Erhalt bedrohter Sprachen und Kulturen vor. » mehr

Vom 3-4. Dezember nahm Erich Kasten an dem Workshop des Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) zu dem Thema "Oral History meets Linguistics" teil. Die Beiträge werden in einem Sammelband von Erich Kasten, Katja Roller und Joshua Wilbur im Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien herausgegeben.

Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr