>

News  (January 2015)

From the 12th to the18th of July, 2014, Erich Kasten took part in the workshop (Meeting NSF Elders) to the project "Math in Cultural Context" at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Since 2012, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures has been a partner in this project, which is financed by the National Science Foundation. Kasten had arranged for the participation of his long-standing collaborator Maia Lomovtseva from Kamchatka, and joined with her in presentations and discussions during the workshop. The first article about previous research on this subject in Kamchatka was published in "Sibirski sbornik" vol. 4 of the Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkamera) in St. Petersburg in December, 2014. » more

In addition to promoting scientific analysis of indigenous mathematical concepts in comparative perspective, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures is especially interested in sustaining this particular indigenous knowledge. Based on recordings from this project, the Foundation for Siberian Cultures will provide learning materials for indigenous communities in Kamchatka. This will enable traditional knowledge to be preserved, and, perhaps at least in part, be integrated with essential modern mathematical concepts.

Following the workshop of the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Erich Kasten participated on behalf of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures as a consultant in the film project "Chamisso's shadow," which was shot at sites in Chukotka and Kamchatka.

Kasten also spent time in Anadyr at the end of August on separate research for the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. He documented learning situations related to sustaining indigenous languages and knowledge, and to the advancement of such traditional genres as narrative tradition, song and dance.  » more
These will be published, together with additional recordings on Chukchi artistic carving, as learning tools in Chukchi, Russian, and English.

While in Anadyr, Kasten gave a presentation at the museum about the Foundation's earlier activities in Kamchatka, A few days later, he came to an agreement with the Institute of Advanced Teacher Training detailing future collaboration on these themes in Chukotka.

In September, Kasten presented the latest publications and activities of the Foundation for Siberian Cultures at the library of the Bystrinski district in Esso (Kamchatka). With Maia Lomovtseva, he documented the symbolism of patterns in Even bead-work.

At a meeting with the staff of the central Krasheninnikov library in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatski in October, further collaborations were discussed. Since then, a full set of the Foundation's publications has been made available there for public use. Already during his visit in last Spring, Kasten has supplied additional books to district libraries in Kamchatka for use as learning tools in indigenous communities. The latest publications were well received. Some sections were even re-printed in newspapers serving the indigenous peoples of Kamchatka. » more

Short films by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures, in which recent initiatives and methods for sustaining endangered languages are documented, were shown in November at the Expolingua Berlin 2014 at the Russian House of Science and Culture. » more

The Foundation's latest Show of the Web presents the results of research by Stephan Dudeck among the Khanty and Forest Nenets in Western Siberia.  » more


Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.01.2015)

Vom 12. bis 18. Juli nahm Erich Kasten an dem Workshop (NSF Elders Meeting) zu dem Projekt "Math in Cultural Context" an der University of Alaska Fairbanks teil. Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien ist seit 2012 Partner in diesem von der National Science Foundation finanzierten Projekt. Erich Kasten hatte die Teilnahme seiner langjährigen Mitarbeiterin Maja Lomovzeva aus Kamtschatka organisiert und Präsentationen und Diskussionen während des Workshops gemeinsam mit ihr duchgeführt. Ein erster Zwischenbericht zu früheren Forschungen zu diesem Thema auf Kamtschatka ist in "Sibirski sbornik" vol. 4 des Museums für Anthropologie und Ethnografie (Kunstkamera) in St. Petersburg im Dezember 2014 erschienen. » mehr 

Neben der wissenschaftlichen Analyse von indigenen mathematischen Konzepten im Kulturvergleich ist die Kulturstiftung Sibirien vor allem am Erhalt dieses besonderen  indigenen Wissens interessiert. Die Kulturstiftung Sibirien wird mit Hilfe der Aufzeichnungen aus diesem Projekt Lernmaterialien für indigene Gemeinschaften auf Kamtschatka erstellen. So können überlieferte eigene Kenntnisse erhalten werden und zumindest in Teilen in moderne mathematische Konzepte einfließen.

Im Anschluss an den Workshop an der University of Alaska Fairbanks war Erich Kasten für die Kulturstiftung Sibirien als Berater in dem Filmprojekt "Chamissos Schatten" in Tschukotka und Kamtschatka tätig.

In Anadyr führte Erich Kasten Ende August für die Kulturstiftung Sibirien eigene Untersuchungen durch. Es wurden Lernsituationen dokumentiert, die zum Erhalt von indigenem Wissen und Sprache und zur künstlerischen Weiterentwicklung traditioneller Genres wie Erzähltradition, Gesang und Tanz beitragen.  » mehr
Zusammen mit ebenfalls dokumentierter Schnitzkunst der Tschuktschen werden diese Aufzeichnungen als Lernmaterialien in tschuktschischer, russischer und englischer Sprache erscheinen. Auf einer Veranstaltung im Museum in Anadyr
berichtete Erich Kasten von der bisherigen Tätigkeit der Kulturstiftung Sibirien auf Kamtschatka. Einige Tage später wurde mit dem Institut für Lehrerfortbildung eine Vereinbarung zur zukünftigen Zusammenarbeit auf Tschukotka getroffen.

Ende September stellte Erich Kasten in der Bibliothek des Bystrinski-Bezirks in Esso (Kamtschatka) die neuesten Publikationen und Aktivitäten der Kulturstiftung Sibirien vor. Mit Maja Lomovzeva dokumentierte er die Symbolik von Mustern in evenischen Perlenstickereien.
 

Mit der Leitung der zentralen Krašeninnikov-Bibliothek in Petropavlovsk-Kamtschatski 
wurde Anfang Oktober die weitere Zusammenarbeit besprochen. Ein kompletter Satz der Publikationen des Verlags der Kulturstiftung Sibirien steht dort seitdem zur allgemeinen Nutzung zur Verfügung. Bereits bei seinem Besuch im Frühjahr versandte Erich Kasten Exemplare von Lernmaterialien für indigene Gemeinschaften auf Kamtschatka an die jeweiligen Bezirksbibliotheken. Jüngste Publikationen fanden erhebliche Resonanz, so dass einige von ihnen in Auszügen in Zeitschriften für die indigene Bevölkerung abgedruckt wurden. » mehr

Auf der Expolingua Berlin 2014 im Russischen Haus der Wissenschaft und Kultur wurden Ende November kürzere Filme der Kulturstiftung Sibirien gezeigt, in denen neuere Initiativen und Methoden zum Erhalt von bedrohten Sprachen dokumentiert sind. » mehr

Die neueste virtuelle Ausstellung stellt Forschungen von Stephan Dudeck zu den Chanten und Waldnenzen in Westsibirien vor. » mehr


Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr