>

News  (July 2014)

The beginning of the year was tainted with sadness at the painful loss of Aleksandra Urkachan, the closest collaborator of Erich Kasten in Kamchatka. Her valuable contribution in documenting and sustaining the cultural heritage of her Koryak people will always be remembered fondly by her friends and colleagues both within and outside Kamchatka, and in particular by the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. » more

From March to April 2014, Erich Kasten continued his fieldwork in central Kamchatka on the project "The Potential Contribution of Indigenous Knowledge to Teaching and Learning Mathematics." This international project is based at the University of Fairbanks and is funded by the National Science Foundation. Kasten worked closely with seamstresses to document a number of their specific techniques, and he recorded their information in the Koryak and Even languages. The aim is to reveal underlying indigenous mathematical concepts through subsequent comparative analysis. During his stay among reindeer-herders near Esso, Kasten also documented indigenous knowledge about orienting oneself while out on the land and in the course of migrations.

Additional volumes were published at the Foundation for Siberian Cultures. A new series, "Transcultural Discourses", was established. It contains cross-cultural dialogues on worldviews, myths and landscapes in lyrics and in the arts, some of them extending beyond Siberia. A recently released first book in this series, "Natürlich, Mensch sein," authored by Ralf Wojtkowiak, is on poetry.  » more

The series "Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East" has been further expanded by two more volumes. A first book, edited by Klavdiya Khaloimova, Michael Dürr and Erich Kasten, contains Itelmen (Kamchadal) texts that Vladimir Jochelson had collected in the years 1910-1911 along the west coast of Kamchatka. In this new edition, the texts can be read for the first time in the Itelmen script that is currently used, together with their Russian translations. The aim of this publication was to make these early and informative texts available in this way to the broader public and the indigenous community, where they are now actually being used as teaching materials and in Itelmen language classes. » more

A second volume of Even texts was published with the title "Even Tales, Songs and Worldviews." It focuses on the Evens of the Bystrinski district, in the central part of Kamchatka. The book contains a collection of Even texts that Erich Kasten, together with his local collaborators, recorded there in the years from 1997 to 2014. In combination with accompanying DVDs (with audio- and video-files of the recordings) this volume is aimed at sustaining indigenous language and knowledge in Kamchatka. To make the texts available to readers in other parts of the world, especially to northern communities outside Russia, in addition to Russian the book also contains English translations. Moreover, a latinized transcription of the texts has been posted on the internet for those with particular linguistic interests. In future years, further volumes will be published using this complex new format, which has been tested for some time and put into practice as last. These will contain data on the Even, Itelmen and Koryak languages and cultures. » more

The Foundation's most recent on-line show provides vivid views of magnificent natural landscapes landscapes in the Russian Far East. Ecologist Steffen Bohl takes us along on his journey through the UNESCO Natural World Heritage sites of Kamchatka.   » more


Archive of earlier activities  » more

>

Aktuelles (Stand: 1.07.2014)

Der Beginn des Jahres war überschattet von dem schmerzlichen Verlust der bislang engsten Mitarbeiterin von Erich Kasten auf Kamtschatka, Aleksandra Urkachan. Für ihren wertvollen Beitrag bei der Dokumentation indigenen Wissens wird ihr neben vielen Freunden und Kollegen in und außerhalb Kamtschatkas vor allem die Kulturstiftung Sibirien immer dankbar sein. » mehr

Im Rahmen des seit August 2012 laufenden und von der National Science Foundation geförderten Forschungsprojekts an der University of Alaska Fairbanks zu dem Thema "Indigenes mathematisches Wissen und dessen Einbeziehung in Lehr- und Lernkonzepte" führte Erich Kasten im März und April 2014 weitere Feldforschungen im Nordosten Kamtschatkas durch. Dabei wurden Handwerkstechniken mit Erläuterungen in korjakischer und evenischer Sprache aufgezeichnet. Deren spätere Analysen sollen indigene mathematische Konzepte erfassen, die diesen Tätigkeiten zugrunde liegen. Während seines Aufenthalts bei Rentierhaltern in der Nähe von Esso dokumentierte Erich Kasten außerdem indigenes Wissen im Hinblick auf die Orientierung in der Natur und auf Weidewanderungen.

Im Verlag der Kulturstiftung Sibirien erschienen weitere Publikationen. Es wurde eine weitere Buchreihe, "Transcultural  Discourses", eingerichtet, die Sichten auf Weltbilder, Mythen und Landschaften bietet, die im künstlerischen und lyrischen Diskurs auch über Sibirien hinausgehen. Als erstes Buch in dieser Reihe ist die Gedichtsammlung "Natürlich, Mensch sein" von Ralf Wojtkowiak erschienen.  » mehr

In der Reihe "Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East"
sind die von Vladimir Jochelson in den Jahren 1910-1911 an der Westküste Kamtschatkas gesammelten itelmenischen Erzählungen (Kamchadals texts) in umfassender Neubearbeitung durch Klavdija Chalojmova, Michael Dürr und Erich Kasten herausgegeben worden. Die Texte werden hier erstmals in der heute gebräuchlichen itelmenischen Transkription zusammen mit ihrer russischen Übersetzung wiedergegeben. Ziel dieser Publikation ist es, diese frühen und besonders wertvollen Texte so auch der breiteren Öffentlichkeit in Kamtschatka zugänglich zu machen, wo sie seitdem auch als Lehrmaterialen – vor allem auch im itelmenischen Sprachunterricht – genutzt werden. » mehr

In der Reihe "Languages and Cultures of the Russian Far East" erschien eine weitere evenische Textsammlung mit dem Titel "Even Tales, Songs and Worldviews" zu Evenen, die im Bystrinski-Bezirk in Zentral-Kamtschatka leben. Dieser Band enthält eine Auswahl evenischer Texte in russischer und englischer Übersetzung, die Erich Kasten dort mit seinen Mitarbeiterinnen in den Jahren 1997 bis 2014 aufgezeichnet hatte. Begleitend dazu erschien auch eine Kassette mit drei DVDs, die eine komplette Audio-und Videodokumentation der in Buchform erschienenen Texte enthält. Zusammen mit der Buchausgabe lassen sich die Filme – mit mehrsprachigen Übersetzungen als Untertitel – besonders gut zu Unterrichtszwecken nutzen. Sie bieten eine wertvolle Ressource für Jugendliche und all diejenigen, die sich neben der evenischen Sprache auch für den Erhalt und die Weiterentwicklung des wertvollen kulturellen Erbe dieses Volkes interessieren. Es handelt sich hierbei um einen ersten Band zur "Evenischen Sprache und Kultur" auf Kamtschatka, dem bald ähnliche Werke zu weiteren Themen folgen werden. » mehr

Die aktuelle virtuelle Ausstellung gibt uns Einblicke in die großartigen Naturlandschaften im Fernen Osten Russlands. Mit dem Ökologen und Naturfotografen Steffen Bohl sind wir unterwegs in den UNESCO-Weltnaturerbegebieten Kamtschatkas. » mehr


Archiv früherer Aktivitäten  » mehr